Absinthe: Restaurant Week

October 21, 2011 § 1 Comment

The wagyu beef at this place is spectacular.

Apologies for the awful photos. I was using an iPhone 3GS and the lighting in the restaurant is very erm…romantic.

I’d eaten here once before and was blown away. At the time, I had the Pan-Fried Foie Gras with Warm Blinis and Morello Cherries, Fish and Seafood Bouillabaisse Scented with Absinthe, Saffron Aioli & Croutons, and the Warm Valhrona Chocolate Fondant and Macadamia Nut Ice Cream. The Foie Gras was melt-in-your-mouth good, and the other dishes were delicious though not better than expected. I managed to finagle a bite of wagyu beef from my dining companion and offered to trade my buillabaisse for it then and there. I was rejected. And dejected. So I filed away the memory of this luscious piece of cow and decided I’d come back another day to have one all to myself.

Almost one year later, I made a booking for the set dinner during Restaurant Week, hoping that Absinthe would showcase her best dishes to eager diners for this occasion. Unfortunately, the set did not include the beef. Thwarted again!

Pan-Fried Foie Gras with Warm Blinis and Morello Cherries

However, the Foie Gras featured as one of the starters and it was as good as I remember it to be. The portion was smaller, since the other starter was Salad of King Crab with Avocado, Goat Cheese and Mint. The crab was refreshing, and my dining companion really enjoyed it with the crusty bread.

Salad of King Crab with Avocado, Goat Cheese and Mint

For the main, we had a choice between either the Roasted Lamb Rump with Garlic Mash and Green Beans, or the Slow Cooked King Salmon with Celeriac Mash and Parsley Coulis. I decided to go with the lamb as I was having a red meat craving and wanted something medium rare. I was still disappointed that the beef was not an option, so perhaps it coloured my opinion of the lamb, which I found to be competently executed though nothing exceptional. We were sorting out who ordered the medium and medium rare, so I forgot to take any pics! (Not that it would really make a difference since the pics are so fugly anyway.)

Profiteroles with Vanilla Ice Cream and Warm Chocolate Sauce

The set dinner was rounded off with Profiteroles with Vanilla Ice Cream and Warm Chocolate Sauce. Quite frankly, the pastry was too dry and the ice cream boring. Dessert felt like it was slotted in for the sake of having something sweet to end the meal, rather than as a grand finale to what would otherwise have been a dining experience to remember.

I guess I’d come again, but only for the wagyu beef. Let’s see if third time’s the charm.

* Note: From Jan 2012, Restaurant Absinthe will be relocating to 72 Boat Quay.

Restaurant Absinthe
48 Bukit Pasoh Road
Singapore 089858
Tel: +65 6222 9068
reservations@absinthe.sg
 
Opening Hours
Lunch : 12pm – 2:30pm (Mon – Fri)
Dinner : 6:30pm – 10:30pm (Mon – Sat)
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Absinthe: Restaurant Week

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Absinthe: Restaurant Week at Bear Eats Blog.

meta

